Making a difference: how my values and beliefs, as a physical education teacher, might  bring about positive change in physical education and physical activity.

Written by:

Take a step into my PE hall and what you will see is more than just a teacher leading drills, you will encounter a catalyst that instigates transformation, a champion who advocates for well-being, and a source of motivation and inspiration. Every teacher has the ability to impact students in ways that reach far beyond the confines of the classroom. Welcome to the exhilarating world of physical education (PE) where passion meets purpose, movement meets meaning and dedication lights the way to lifelong PA and wellbeing. Welcome to the revolutionary realm of PE, where we will re-write what it means to make a difference…….

ME&PA

Physical activity (PA) has always been a key component in my life, and has had a significant impact in shaping me as an individual. For me, physical activity (PA) is more than just exercise; it is foundational to my health and development as a person. My daily routines, habits, and view on life are shaped by the core concept of embracing an active lifestyle.

Read more: Making a difference: how my values and beliefs, as a physical education teacher, might  bring about positive change in physical education and physical activity.

Vincent Lam- Power of Fitness- TEDTALK

ME &PE

Ironically, I never enjoyed PE when I was in school. No enjoyable or meaningful experiences could ever be derived from a class that spent every week playing the same game of Dodge ball.

Press refresh if video does not load

So why did I become a PE teacher? For that exact reason. It wasn’t until I had left school that I finally saw significance of PA in my life and the role that PE plays in fostering that significance. I was never given that opportunity in school, but I want to give my students that opportunity now. We are not just teachers; we are agents of transformation, shaping futures one step at a time….

Teachers are widely recognized as agents of change in society, playing a crucial role in shaping the minds, values, and behaviors of the next generation.

Jain, H. (2023) Teacher as an agent of Change, Prep With Harshita. Available at: https://prepwithharshita.com/teacher-as-an-agent-of-change/ (Accessed: 26 March 2024).

My views of teaching:

Becoming a teacher means you’re constantly growing and evolving. I’m not the same teacher I was 2 years ago. As a matter of fact, I’m not even the same teacher I was yesterday! As a PE teacher in particular, my views on teaching have evolved significantly over time, shaped by……

At first, I pursued a career in PE due to my strong interest in sports and fitness. I saw teaching as a way to share my expertise in technical skills and encourage PA. During my first school placement I prioritized the coordination of games, teaching correct technique, and highlighting the significance of PA for over all well-being and fitness. I placed a large focus on curriculum, ensuring I was ‘ticking all the boxes’.

Now although these elements are important. This attitude shifted quite a lot during my second school placement. I think the change in gender may have contributed to this change as I moved from teaching all boys to all girls, girls tending to be more emotionally connected in the school environment. Teaching now, in my current perspective, is a complex undertaking that goes beyond simply imparting knowledge or achieving proficiency in skills. The focus is on fostering the holistic development of the student, encompassing their physical, mental, and spiritual well-being, while providing them with the necessary skills to succeed in an everchanging and evolving society. Physical Education that goes beyond the physical…..

School physical education represents a context that has the potential for promoting positive youth development by helping students acquire life skills and psychosocial and behavioral attributes that can transfer to other important domains (school, family, work) concurrently and over the life span.

Weiss, M.R., 2011. Teach the children well: A holistic approach to developing psychosocial and behavioral competencies through physical education. Quest63(1), pp.55-65.

How do we do that? Key points:

Transformative learning and PE:

Transformational teaching and learning involves creating a uniquely engaging student experience through a dynamic relationship between the teacher, the students, and a shared body of knowledge to promote student learning and personal growth. 

Moody, B. (2024) ‘Physical Literacy and Transformative PE’ [Power Point Presentation- Week 4] PY4108- YOUTH, SPORT AND ADVOCACY. Available at: https://ulcampus-my.sharepoint.com/:p:/g/personal/brigitte_moody_ul_ie/EaS8gAjs-09Pm23SMhU1d4kBwiG8e9rgqQPStp9NmKzxUA?e=4kZbjO&previoussessionid=21988f71-da4e-a17e-4409-85f4829db551 (Accessed: 20/03/2024)

What are my goals therefore as a teacher?

(Click titles to access further media)

Promoting physical and well-being by engaging in organized physical activities, conducting fitness evaluations, and participating in exercises aimed at setting and achieving goals.

Developing physical literacy comprising the aptitude to move proficiently and confidently in a range of activities and environments.

Promote inclusivity and equity by guaranteeing equitable access to learning opportunities and resources for all pupils. I endeavor to establish an inclusive and nurturing educational setting that embraces diversity, ensuring that each student is valued and included.

Provide meaningful and immersive learning experiences that foster enjoyment, critical thinking, problem solving, innovation, and cooperative work.

Promote social and emotional learning by creating a supportive and inclusive learning environment where students feel valued, respected, and supported.

Promote life-long participation and instill health and wellness habits by equipping students with the knowledge, skills and motivation to adopt active and healthy lives, as well as cultivating a passion for PA and delivering positive and engaging PE experiences.

What is influencing my choices?

SCL, I&D, SEL

What Roles will I/ my students play?

Let’s wrap this up!

As we conclude our journey of the transformational domain of PE, one fact remains evident: the influence of a PE teacher extends well beyond the confines of the PE hall. We are not just instructors; we are creators of transformation, shapers of intellect, and advocates for wellness. It is through our passion and determination that we have the ability to shape lives in countless, lasting ways. Let us continue motivating our students to surpass their boundaries and revel in the pleasure of PA. For in the journey of making a difference in PE, the greatest achievements are seen in the lives that have been changed and inspired. Lets us light the torch of wellness that will be carried on for generations to come.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started